“Mind Mural” – a poem

walking through the forest i pine for something unknown,

some aesthetic that is more than visual,

that is visceral.

i want to paint the walls of my mind

shade the neurons their trademark fluorescence,

dab impressions of flowers on its borders

make the scent of autumnal spice come alive in the cortex.

i seek clarity beneath a gray sky,

wishing the work of my mind was not screenbound

wishing distraction was not my reward

for focus

to what formless destination has wishing ever sailed us?

on what salted, sanded paradise has dreaming left us stranded?

time for a venture into unsafety, time to turn

inside-out my mind

so that I may make it my mural.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

